Aug 31

ITIL Explained

ITIL Explained

The (IT Infrastructure Library ) ITIL is a blend of processes, procedures, tasks, and checklists applied by the organization towards developing strategy, delivering value, and maintaining a minimum level of competency in an organization. It allows organizations to establish a platform where they can plan, implement and measure the compliance and improvement. ITIL helps businesses, organizations and individuals gain optimal value from IT and digital services. It gives direction to the service provider with a clear capability model and aligns them to the business strategy and customer needs.

ITIL certification is a comprehensive, practical and proven method to establish a service management system, providing a common glossary of terms for businesses using IT enabled services. It defines a cohesive set of best practices, drawn from the public and private sectors internationally.Each year, many organizations invest heavily in adopting ITIL into their business practices and upskilling their workforce with ITIL qualifications. ITIL has become fundamental to businesses all around the world, it enables transformation and helps organizations realize value. ITIL services are aligned to the needs of the business and support its core processes.

ITIL version 4, also called ITIL4, was released in 2019. It maintains the same focus on automating processes, improving service management and integrating the IT department into the business with the updated framework to accommodate and answer to modern technology, tools and software. Since the developement of the latest version of ITIL, the IT department in organizations has grown to become integral to every business and the new framework accommodates this by being more agile, flexible and collaborative.

ITIL4 focuses on company culture and integrating IT into the overall business structure. As the business units increasingly rely on technology to get work done ITIL4 encourages collaboration between IT and other departments . It emphasizes on customer feedback since it is easier than earlier for businesses to understand their public perception, customer satisfaction and dissatisfaction. The nine guiding principles that were adopted from the most recent ITIL Practitioner Exam covers organizational change management, communication and measurement and metrics. These principles include:

  1. Focus on value
  2. Design for experience
  3. Start where you are
  4. Work holistically
  5. Progress iteratively
  6. Observe directly
  7. Be transparent
  8. Collaborate
  9. Keep it simple

ITIL is a library of volumes that describes a framework of best practices for delivering IT services. It comprises of five books, each covering various processes and stages of the IT service lifecycle. ITIL baseline developed a systematic approach to IT service management which help businesses manage risk, strengthen customer relations, establish cost-effective practices, and build a stable IT environment that allows for growth, scale and change.

List of Business Analysis Courses

Looking for an IT Job?

Please call us on 1800 159 151, or complete the form below.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Recent Posts

About The Author

Delivering Classroom and Live Instructor-led Training. Attend at our premises or from anywhere on any device.

COVID discounts on Job Programs end soon, register today.

Open chat